Sunday, June 28, 2015

Treble Chain

(click for larger image)
This pattern is based on the same essential principle as the previous pattern; a set of arpeggios in X shapes combined with an underlying set of diamond patterns. The geometry yields a musical idea which follows a logical interval structure. Each X in this pattern is played as two arpeggios.

The diamonds are played; Root - 3rd - 7th - 9th. The green X is the exception, as it was in the previous pattern, consisting of a 10th and an Octave combined with a Tritone and a Whole Tone. 

Here are diagrams, notation and sound clips for each part of the pattern;
Dorian X
D minor 11th / F major 7th / E minor 7 (b9)

Lydian X
F major 9 / A minor 9th / G dom 9th

Aeolian X
A minor 11th / C major 7th / B minor 7 (b5 b9)

Ionian X
C major 10th / D Octave

The Big Picture
Here's the combined pattern covering the entire fret board in the key of C and as Roman numerals;
(click for larger image)
This is the same pattern featuring Roman numerals which apply to all keys.

All contents of this blog are © Mark Newstetter

Friday, June 26, 2015

Argyle Chops

(click for larger image)
The pattern of this exercise doesn't just look pretty, it expresses the innate symmetry of the diatonic system on the fretboard within the three low strings. The colored X shapes comprise a set of broken chords; the first half of each X is "Root, 5th, 7th" (no 3rd), the other half is "Root, 3rd, 7th" (no 5th), Each complete X is a type of 9th chord arpeggio, i.e.; EGBDF, GBDFA, etc. ... while the gray diamond shapes are 7th arpeggios; "Root, 3rd, 5th, 7th."

Each X can also be thought of as relating to the mode of its lowest note, so we can call the first (red) X the "Phrygian X" ... the central purple X is the "Mixolydian X" ... the orange X is the "Locrian X" and the green X is the "Dorian X." Each grey shape comprises a chord which is a step above the root of each X, with the exception of the small grey diamond within the green "Dorian X, which contains only two notes.

The seven arpeggiated chords in this pattern are; E minor b9th, F major 7th, G dominant 9th, A minor 7th, B minor 9 (b5),  C major 7th and D minor 9th.

Use the notation, diagrams and sound clips below to play each part of the pattern;
Phrygian X
E minor 7 (b9) / F major 7th

Mixolydian X
G dominant 9th / A minor 7th

Locrian X
B minor 9 (b5) / C major 7th

Dorian X
D minor 9th

Repeat each form a few times before going on to the next.

All contents of this blog are © Mark Newstetter